New leader at the helm of Nelson Mandela Bay Maritime Cluster

Nelson Mandela Bay Maritime Cluster

Transnet National Ports Authority (TNPA) wishes to congratulate the Port of PE’s Senior Operations Manager, Captain Faisal Sultan (Master Mariner) on his appointment as Chairperson of the Nelson Mandela Bay Maritime Cluster (NMBMC).

He will lead the new leadership team of seven members, providing strategic direction to achieve the cluster’s vision.

Volunteering their time and expertise, they will focus on the implementation of the cluster’s strategic goals and objectives. Its vision is to be a pioneering maritime cluster model for Africa, involving the participation of the ocean sciences, the ocean business community, government and its agencies, and civil society in responsible ocean governance.

The team consists of the following cluster members – Capt. Faisal Sultan (Chairperson, representing TNPA), Derek Zimmerman (Deputy Chairperson, representing Rand International Capital), Jeremy Dobbin (Secretary, representing the Nelson Mandela Bay Business Chamber), Mohammed Riedau De Maine (Eastern & Southern Cape Pelagic Association), Lusanda Fibi (Iya Group), John Lawlor (East Cape Business Development Advisory Board) and Tasneem De Maine (Solutions 2 Go (Pty) Ltd).

The cluster’s key objectives include:

– Promoting sectorial development through the expansion of marine subsectors such as the marine tourism and leisure subsector, marine manufacturing and boat building, marine energy supply and production particularly for offshore oil and gas and commercial fishing.
– Enhancing enterprise development through the promotion of small businesses, BBBEE, women and the provision of funding.
– Developing human resources through education, skills development, training and knowledge development.
– Aligning government, the private sector, academia, and civil society in its approach.
– Supporting the freight and logistics activities of the ports of PE and Ngqura.
– Connecting the cluster with Africa, Europe and the rest of the world via an international network of maritime clusters.

The NMBMC was established in 2012 as a joint initiative of the Nelson Mandela University, the Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality and the Nelson Mandela Bay Business Chamber.

Who can become a member?

The NMBMC welcomes like-minded individuals, organisations and enterprises with a direct or indirect interest in the ocean economy.

Members can be either formal or informal entities. At present, the cluster functions on a voluntary basis with no membership fees, with the benefits of membership derived from participating in NMBMC activities such as cluster-to-cluster missions, business-to-business matchmaking events, maritime conferences, exhibitions and training.

To become a member, please contact the NMBMC Secretary, Jeremy Dobbin, at or on 078 651 8511.

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest